ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

First of all, I express my deepest thanks to the Vice-Chancellor Sir for providing all possible facilities and creating an environment conducive for research in the university campus.

I am extremely thankful and grateful to my guide & the head of the department Dr. Chanchal Kumar Sharma, Dept. of Political Science, Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh who monitored this research work from the beginning to the completion of it and without whose blessing it would not have been possible to complete this work. I record my sincere gratefulness to him for constant encouragement and his creative suggestions for improvement.

I am very much thankful to Dr. Ravindra Singh who teach me research methodology, Dr. Satish Kumar, Dr. Rajeev Kumar Singh, Dr. Raghvendra Pratap Singh, librarian of CUH, all faculty members and all non-teaching members of Central University of Haryana for their encouragement and suggestions throughout my study.

I am also thankful to Prof. Prakash Mani Tripathi Department of political science, D.D.U. University Gorakhpur for his guidance, encouragement, co-operation and valuable comments.

I wish to express my sense of gratitude to Sr. Advisor panchayati Raj Ministry of India and to entire library staff of PRIA, DU, Lucknow and JNU University, Indian Council For Social Science Research for their co-operation in carrying out my work.

I am also thankful to my seniors and friends Bajrang, Rakesh Kumar, Manoj Kumar, Sneh Lata, Rajesh Kumar, Geeta Yadav, Km Savitri, Brijesh Pratap Singh, Kaushlendra Kumar Tiwari and Hanuman Singh, Lavkesh Singh and all for their support and encouragement.

I wish to express my sense of gratitude to my family especially my ealder brother Mr. Chander kesh Singh for their inspiration throughout my career. Lastly, I convey my sincere thanks to all who directly/indirectly contributed and helped me while carrying out this research work.

Rajesh Kumar